The Ways of Tea

“Drink your tea slowly and reverently, as if it is the axis on which the world earth revolves – slowly, evenly, without rushing toward the future.”
Thich Nhat Hanh

This is quite possibly one of the nicest quotes I’ve ever read. I came across it a few years ago when I started appreciating my tea a lot more and I began researching Taoism. I’m never going to claim to be an expert in these things but there are certainly thoughtful words I wish to live by. I was introduced to it properly when I watched some tea ceremonies in China and Japan. They was surprisingly relaxing.

Because of this I have my own Gong Fu tea set pictured below – including a gaiwan and a tiny teapot (that one’s my favourite). The cups are quite small as we don’t need a large quantity of tea to heal as we drink. It’s important to inhale the scent of the tea leaves as well as the taste. I will say oolong tea is quite possibly my favourite for the smell and taste. Jasmine tea is closely behind.

Apparently when I was younger I had a stuffed panda toy that I took with me everywhere I went. Unfortunately it got lost and I was utterly heartbroken. I don’t remember this but due to my attachment to my current stuffed pandas beside me, I can easily believe it. I was told also that having been born in February I was named after the winter jasmine that blooms in the same month in China. I think that’s a lovely story.

gongfu

Leave a Reply

