Conflicted about Languages

I haven’t uploaded anything for a few days but I thought I’d make my next blog post about something that’s been on my mind for a few weeks. Well, at least something that’s separate from my revision for the numeracy test this Wednesday… ugh.

If you got the clue in the title of this blog, then you know it has something to do with languages. I mentioned many times before that I was learning Anglo Saxon. That then transferred to learning Welsh which I am really enjoying. But I’m having an internal conflict about which of the Celtic languages I wish to learn first. I’ve never proven to myself as a natural when learning a second language (I was rubbish with learning French in school, lol) but it’s definitely something I wish to have. For me it doesn’t have to be a language that’s mainstream – in fact the less mainstream the better, which doesn’t help me for overseas career prospects I’m sure. It’s more for me and my own personal interests.

This is why I’m attracted to the Celtic languages but that’s also why I’m conflicted over which one I would go for first. The fact that I’m not good at learning a language makes me realise focusing on one for now is the best option. But I’ve heard Welsh, Cornish, Irish Gaelic and Scottish Gaelic and I end up rolling around the floor in extreme frustration because they all sound beautiful. That rolling around was comic exaggeration by the way, I wouldn’t really admit to doing something like that if I did…………..

I think the best course of action is to have a taste of all, focus on why I would learn that particular language and whether I take to it.

2 thoughts on “Conflicted about Languages

Leave a Reply

